Journalism notes

As part of my look into my PaR I have been increasingly looking at journalism. Particualrly performative  journalism such as gonzo journalism and immersive journalism.

I am very much throwing myself into this as I do with many other things and has been a throughline for my learning in the masters. Throwing off traditional means.

I have experience making films for online projects in the past such as my online sketches which by far preceed the solo comic work that I am more well known for. I someties wish I had managed to keep them going all the way back then as this was prior to the big youtube boom over 10 years ago. However my comic abiollity and my inabillity to efficiently collaborate definitel hindered this and I am now much more likely to be able to make projects such as this one.

I have found that many of my attempts to do interviews have been hampered by the public, which may or may not be useful given the tone of the documentary. I am enjoying doing the work and hope to do documentaries such as this one for other aspects of comic performance.

immersion and gonzo journalism should hopefully give me an abillity to subvert the expectations of documentary as, even though gonzo journalism is a mainstream fixture of performative documentary film making such as the style used by Louis Theroux, the objectivity expected from the journalism that is subverted by Gonzo journalism should hopefully allow me to play with expectations of documentary through comic devices.

Leave a comment